Review: Amphetamine Heart by Liz Worth

Amphetamine Heart - Liz Worth

Quick review for a quick read. Liz Worth's "Amphetamine Heart" is a collection of poetry divided into four sections, describing something of a trippy exhaultation with the backing of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. I liked some of the on-point descriptions of moods, tripped out euphoria, and at times somber descents. Reading this feels like you're wading through a haze of emotions and following the speaker through these undulating turns of bright and dark, leaning very heavily on the latter. But admittedly, I can't say that this collection of poetry stuck with me as much as I would've liked in places. The first few sections of poems didn't really do much for me apart from just appreciating how they tied together, but as I went through the collection, the third and fourth sections brought forth some gems that managed to resonate with me and bring the piece together in a fine way.

The opening lines of "Goat Horn" were among a few that caught my attention (and this might've been my favorite piece in the collection, as featured in the third section of the work):

"The morning is a marvel
of dehydration and swollen lids,
blood vessels daring to drain the iris."

I love vivid lines like that, dark yet put you right in the moment and mood of the piece.

The titular poem, "Amphetamine Heart" was also a standout poem, featured in the fourth section "Oral Fixations". As featured from the second stanza:

"I had spent a summer tattooing tarot visions to my
They couldn't make me see.
My muscles stung with the pins of a cat's eye;
I craved decay, fed from ash and wine."

I also loved "The Sequence of Equation" and "Machinations" as featured within the work. Overall, it makes me curious to see what other works Liz Worth has in the realm of poetry, though I think while the collection manages to be cohesive for theme and mood, the flow and strength of the material felt like it could've been stronger and less abrupt in places.

Overall score: 3/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.